2011-12-23 / Dining & Entertainment

A standing ovation for Ventura County’s community theaters

The winners of the 2011 Four Star Theater awards have been announced. The awards celebrate high achievement in Ventura County community theater.


Community Theatre:

Outstanding Lead Performance Male: Dan Saad, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest”

Outstanding Lead Performance Female: Kristina Reyes, “The King and I”

Outstanding Featured Performance Male: Jim Seerden, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest”

Outstanding Featured Performance Female: Lissa Grafton, “Lend Me a Tenor”

Outstanding Musical Direction: Don Chase, “The King and I”

Outstanding Choreography: Lisa Brady, “Oliver!”

Outstanding Costume Design: Julia Gump and Erin Heulitt, “Oliver!”

Outstanding Sound Design: Scott Beckstead, “ One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest”

Outstanding Set Design: James Castle-Stevens, “Lend Me a Tenor”

Outstanding Lighting Design: Chris Jensen and Troy Campbell, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest”

Outstanding Direction: Brian Robert Harris, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest”

Judges’ Choice: New Image Award to Brian Robert Harris, artistic director

Outstanding Overall Production: Dean Johnson, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest”

High Street Arts Center


Outstanding Lead Performance Male: Nikko Arce, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Outstanding Lead Performance Female: Veronica Dunne, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Outstanding Featured Performance Male: Chris Bowen, “A Few Good Men”

Outstanding Featured Performance Female: Masaya Palmer, “Jekyll & Hyde”

Outstanding Musical Direction: Nick Newkirk, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Outstanding Choreography: Eric Umali, “Jekyll & Hyde”

Outstanding Costume Design: William H. Fisher, “Macbeth”

Outstanding Sound Design: Ken Rayzor, “A Few Good Men”

Outstanding Set Design: Andrew De La Torre, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Outstanding Lighting Design: Patrick Duffy, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Outstanding Direction: Tami Keaton, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Judges’ Choice: Mark Keaton and Kelly Green for Fantastical Foliage of Audrey II, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Outstanding Overall Production: Ken Rayzor, “Little Shop of Horrors”

Conejo Players Theatre

(Thousand Oaks)

Outstanding Lead Performance Male: John Gaston, “The Scarlet Pimpernel”

Outstanding Lead Performance Female: Dana Kolb, “Gyspy”

Outstanding Featured Performance Male: Alex Choate, “The Rocky Horror Show”

Outstanding Featured Performance Female: Randi A. Saxer, “Gyspy”

Outstanding Musical Direction: Shelly Saxer and Jim Holmes, “Gyspy”

Outstanding Choreography: Miriam Durrie-Kirch, “Gyspy”

Outstanding Costume Design: Tiel Kinsner, Arryck Adams and Ken Patton for “The Rocky Horror Show”

Outstanding Sound Design: Shawn Lanz, “The Rocky Horror Show”

Outstanding Set Design: John Holroyd, “The Scarlet Pimpernel”

Outstanding Lighting Design: Leigh Puhek and Jennifer Kilpatrick for “The Rocky Horror Show”

Outstanding Direction: Arryck Adams, “The Rocky Horror Show”

Judges’ Choice: Mayra Deleon and Chris Mahr for outstanding makeup design, “The Rocky Horror Show”

Outstanding Overall Production: Shawn Lanz, “The Rocky Horror Show”

The other participating theaters in the awards program are Elite Theatre ( Oxnard), Ojai ACT and Santa Paula Theater Center.

Return to top